Home > Apple Macintosh > Mac OS X Disk Space Decrease….

Mac OS X Disk Space Decrease….

November 21, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

A few months ago, i realized that my disk space in my macbook decrease. I thought it caused by installed applications and my datas.

So i moved lot of the datas to my computer and remove unused-applications to increase my disk space. At that time i felt, “Oh Dude, why this tasks only increase a few gigs T.T”

I felt curious, what was the caused of this…?? Xcode??? or ….???

I checked it through Terminal by typing these command as root

# cd /

# du -hd1

Through this command i see that the folder /cores used almost 25G *WEW 😦

there were a lot of files there which prefix is core.xxxx… I didn’t delete it instantly, because i’m afraid whether those files are a filesystem or not… this folder isn’t appear at finder (it’s hidden)

I searched through Google and found that those files are images of the computer memory that are left for debugging reasons after crashes or forced restarts.

Knew that those files aren’t important, i could delete them safely 😀

Just Open the terminal, and switched as root then fype these commands :

# cd /cores/

# rm -rf *

Done…. ^^

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment